03/02/2017: Teaching Abe left and right

Abe will be starting Agility classes soon! He graduated from our basic obedience class, and I really think he will enjoy agility quite a bit. It’s going to be a lot of fun!

Part of agility training is teaching the dog to touch things with their paws. There are contact areas on some obstacles that the dogs have to touch to avoid getting penalties. I’ve already taught Abe to use his paws for the nail board, so this comes naturally to him. He already touches objects on the ground if I point to them. I wanted to take it to the next level by teaching him to touch with whatever paw I tell him to use: right or left.

Here’s the video explaining and showing how I did it.

Leave a Reply

